"WE TEACH RESPONSIBLE PISTOL OWNERSHIP, MARKSMANSHIP, AND SAFETY"
Phase 1 - NRA Basic Pistol Training (PH1) Course fee $170
Our students start with a solid foundation from the NRA Basic Pistol Course which far exceeds the basic requirements established by law and curriculum designated the Illinois State Police. This nationally recognized course serves as the best platform to establish your basic knowledge, skills and attitude for safe, and confident firearm handling. This also gives you the opportunity to take several of the advanced pistol courses offered, such as Phase 2 for your Illinois Concealed Carry license (CCL), or the personal coaching we do to improve your individual skills and abilities. If you choose to continue your NRA training, the opportunity could include becoming an NRA Certified Instructor or Coach.
Our Phase 1 (NRA Basic Pistol Course) typically consists of 9 hours of classroom and range time where we discuss reasons to own a pistol, pistol basics including identifying main components and pistol action types, safe gun handling, ammunition knowledge, fundamentals of pistol shooting, cleaning and safe storage of pistols, shooting positions, and additional activities to become involved. We use special laser trainer pistols which have the same look and feel as the popular Glock semi-automatic pistol. The laser dot confirms the proper sight alignment and sight picture (point-of-aim & point-of-impact) and any errors quickly become self-correcting. We practice this in the classroom setting using small 4 inch reactive targets which are more challenging than what we actually shoot at the range. These new “dry-fire” skills translate easily to the range producing tight shooting patterns (groups) with the first few shots. This generates confidence and enthusiasm in the student and makes for great stories at home or the office.
When we consider prior military and first responder personnel, we are certainly grateful for their previous and continuing service to their country and neighborhoods. The Illinois State Police does allow prior military and law enforcement may be credited for prior service, for up to 8 of the required 16 hours for the Illinois CCL. We feel getting the latest information, coaching to correct any bad habits, and learning the same core fundamentals on firearm safety and usage as their Phase 2 classmates will certainly benefit our veterans when you consider the huge responsibility they accept when carrying a concealed firearm out in public. This responsibility reflects not only on them, those they protect, but the general population they are mingling among. We want all our students to make good, sound decisions if and when they feel they must defend themselves against a life threatening attack, and those loved ones they are responsible for.
Military & 1st Responders will receive a $60 discount on this course to show our appreciation!
Phase 2 - Illinois Concealed Carry License (PH2) Course fee $170
This is a non-NRA course based on the curriculum developed by the United States Concealed Carry Association (USCCA) and enhanced by Gurnee Pistol Academy with emphasis on Illinois specific laws regarding concealed firearms and concealed carry equipment and techniques.
The material we cover deals with all applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a ﬁrearm. We learn about the Illinois Firearms Concealed Carry Act (Public Act 98-0063), with special attention on interacting with law enforcement personnel while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
We have authored our own outstanding course text/reference manual on Concealed Carry and Home Defense. It is the absolute best reference available anywhere and will serve as a valuable source of information for years to come. This excellent reference will be sent to you when you enroll in a class. There is a Phase 1 Workbook and a separate Phase 2 Workbook. Included in the Phase 2 course fee are your practice/qualifying targets, ISP training certificate, and a digital or printed copy of your passport photo to upload/send in with Illinois CCL application. We discuss the Illinois Firearms Owner Identification Act in detail and the FOID card needed by any Illinois resident who wishes to purchase firearms and ammunition.
Like all the other instructors, we briefly discuss portions of the Illinois statutes dealing with the use of force: • in defense of a person, • of a dwelling, and • of other property. We also discuss the unlawful use of weapons. But this is where we are different. Please understand the statutes are the intent of the lawmakers; it is up to law enforcement and the court system to enforce and apply the laws. We actually spend most of our time discussing how the laws are actually applied in the real world. We look at past and present Illinois Appellate and Supreme Court decisions for these answers. We also reference the Illinois Criminal Jury Instructions. Those are not actual laws, but how the law should be applied to actual cases and they are usually written in plain language. This is really important because it shows us why we must do certain things to stay within the rules of Self-Defense and not be prosecuted.
We are different than all the others in that we don’t want you to learn how self-Defense Laws are applied, the same time the jury does (after you’re arrested). If you observe the five principles of Self-Defense that you learn in our class, then you as a law-abiding concealed carry license holder will be very hard to convict, let alone arrest.
We spend a considerable amount of time on firearms handling and marksmanship, including:
• Dry ﬁre practice drills (using the laser trainer in the classroom), on handgun fundamentals, conceal carry equipment, techniques,
• Dry ﬁre practice drills from concealment
• Live ﬁre practice drills at the range, focusing on handgun fundamentals.
• Live ﬁre qualiﬁcation with a concealable ﬁrearm consisting of a minimum of 30 rounds which includes 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.
Phase 3 - Private Pistol Coaching Coaching fee $50 (plus range fee)
Call or Text Sue Pate 224-305-5400 for more info..
Learning to shoot well is an important component of concealed carry. We are not born to shoot well. We all have to work at it, so we make it fun to do just that. We consider your skills at this point in time and give you range exercises to shoot. Together we will improve your accuracy, confidence in handling a firearm, help with selecting a new firearm, improving your speed or combinations of these. We limit these sessions to 30 minutes so we don’t overload you at this point in your training. If you do not have a firearm at this point, we have a selection available for you to try. All we ask is a $15 donation towards cleaning and ammunition. This lets you develop your taste and style for features you like (as well as some you don’t like) with various guns. When the time comes to purchase your first gun, you will be a better-informed consumer and get one that fits and you enjoy shooting.
Phase 4 - Private Rifle Coaching Coaching fee $50 (plus range fee)
Call or Text Jon Stahl 224-241-2807 for more info..
When used correctly, a rifle is more accurate at farther distances than a pistol, which is why long distance shooting sports are so heavily reliant on these types of firearms. We borrow similar techniques used by competition shooters and hunters to get you shooting a consistently tighter group on the target. A rifle can be chosen for Home Defense as well, making it an extremely versatile firearm. The lesson will be tailored to your skill level starting from the operation of your rifle, proper stance, breathing, and sight alignment/sight picture. You will also learn the safety rules, how to align your sights, and/or adjust your scope if equipped. The 5 Star Firearms rifle range is 75 feet long which allows a challenge to beginners and intermediate shooters once all the fundamentals are learned. If you do not own a rifle, we can loan you one for an additional $15 cleaning fee plus the cost of ammo. If you are undecisive about which rifle you would like to purchase, trying one of ours may be just what you need to sway your decision.
Phase 5 - 5 Year Refresher for Illinois CCL (PH-5) Course fee $85
All concealed carry instructors are required to read the state statutes affecting concealed carry laws. Please understand the statutes are the intent of the lawmakers; it is up to law enforcement and the court system to interpret, enforce, and apply these laws. We spend our PH-5 class time discussing how the laws are actually applied in the real world. We look at past and present Illinois Appellate and Supreme Court decisions for these answers. We also reference the Illinois Criminal Jury Instructions. Those are not actual laws, but how the law should be applied to actual cases and they are usually written in plain language. This is really important because it shows us why we must do certain things to stay within the rules of Self-Defense and not be prosecuted.
We take a different approach than all the others. We don’t want you to learn how Self-Defense Laws are applied the same time the jury does (after you’re arrested). If you observe the five principles of Self-Defense that you learn in our class, then you as a law-abiding concealed carry license holder will be very hard to convict, let alone arrest. This session exceeds the requirements for the classroom portion for your five-year refresher required by the Illinois State Police. After you have attended the classroom portion and pass your range re-qualification, a new training certificate will be issued so you may renew your Illinois CCL online or over the phone.
Phase 6 - Private Shotgun Coaching Course fee $50 (plus range fee)
Call or Text Jon Stahl 224-241-2807 for more info..
Defending your home is serious business and one safe way is with the correct shotgun and ammo. Shotguns are also fun to shoot at clay pigeons for sport or to get you ready for duck and pheasant hunting seasons. Shotguns typically have more recoil when fired then pistols and rifles due to the size and weight of the cartridge they fire. This added strain requires even more thought into your stance, grip, and shoulder stock placement than before. Let us help you kickstart this learning curve so you can be safe, proficient, and rock solid with every shot fired. We are blessed that 5 Star Firearms allows us to shoot any gauge shotgun with use of approved cartridge type in their range. If you do not own a shotgun we can provide you with one for an additional $15 cleaning fee plus ammo. Call or Text Jon Stahl 224-241-2807
Range qualification for renewing your Illinois CCL Qualification fee $20 (plus range fee)
The range requalification will have you firing 10 rounds at a standard B-27 target from each of the three distances 3, 5, and 7 yards. The Illinois State Police requires a minimum score of 70% of your hits anywhere in the black silhouette at each of the three distances. This qualification will be required after completion of the IL Refresher Course. If you do not have your own firearms, you may choose from an assortment of handguns. We ask a $15 donation towards cleaning and ammunition.
IL Resident - Utah Concealed Carry Permit (UTAH) Course fee $100
This is an optional course which allows the permit holder to carry a concealed firearm in the following states: Alabama Kentucky Pennsylvania Alaska Louisiana South Dakota Arizona Minnesota Tennessee Arkansas Mississippi Texas Delaware Missouri Utah Georgia Montana Vermont Idaho Nebraska Washington Indiana North Carolina West Virginia Iowa Ohio Wisconsin Kansas Oklahoma Wyoming The class consists of a four hour classroom session discussing firearm safety, and the Utah laws which apply to a law abiding concealed firearms holder. When you travel in other states which have a reciprocal agreement with Utah, it is your responsibility to adhere to the local laws of the state you are in. We take your fingerprints on the state of Utah provided FBI cards, as well as take your passport size photo thus saving you time and trouble in the application process. These classes are typically scheduled once per month.
WI Resident - Utah/WI Concealed Firearms Permit Course Fee $100
This class offers a great bargain for WI residents by offering WI & Utah Conceal Carry in the same lesson. This allows for the combining of the overlapping pistol safety requirements and saves you valuable time. We translate that additional time savings into helping you comprehend WI & Utah Conceal Carry laws so that you will be better equipped in both states.
WI Concealed Weapons License Course fee $85
This is an optional course for residents of Wisconsin which allows the permit holder to carry a concealed firearm in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming. Our training meets or exceeds the Wiscons Department Of Justice Requirements § JUS 17.03(7)
NOTE: If you wish to ADD the ability to seamlessly carry your concealed weapon in the states of Delaware, Texas, and the state of Washington; select the Utah/WI Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) class instead for only an additional $15.
NRA Basic Rifle Course Course fee $150
This is an NRA course that is great for any level shooter. 5 different shooting positions will definitely get you excited to shoot rifles. Learn the different rifle components, safety, cleaning, & shooting fundamentals that will make you a responsible and proficient rifle shooter. We have opened this adult level course to children as long as they are accompanied by their parent/guardian and over the age of 12. (Children are %50 off)
NRA Range Safety Officer Course Course fee $125
An NRA course that is recognized nationwide for anyone interested in supervising shooting events, working or volunteering at their local shooting range or gun club, Boy Scout and Girl Scout leaders, Church Security Officers, and more! This course teaches you about the different types of firearms and how to assist shooters when they have a malfunction, how to safely take control of a firearm, give range safety briefings, suicide prevention, basic 1st aid, and more.
Pistol Cartridge Reloading Course Course fee $125
Ammo is expensive, make your own! Find out what equipment and tools you need to get started reloading pistol cartridges. Experience hands-on reloading in class and even shoot what you make!
Phase 7 - STOP THE BLEED, AED & CPR class Course fee $75
The number 1 cause of preventable death after injury is excessive bleeding which is why learning to STOP THE BLEED® is such a vital life saver. In this class you will demonstrate the proper use of clotting gauze, 4x4 gauze pads, and tourniquets while using realistic silicone molds that represent different wound cavities such as deep cuts, punctures and lacerations. We have also added AED (automated external defibrillator) & CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation) instruction to this class, which when faced with one of the most common forms of emergency, will make you a valuable asset to anyone in need of immediate medical attention. AED's are located in most public places and soon you will know how to use them if someone around you is experiencing sudden cardiac arrest. The AED is a medical device that can analyze the heart's rhythm and, if necessary, deliver an electrical shock, or defibrillation, to help the heart re-establish an effective rhythm. You will demonstrate AED and CPR steps while using an adult, teen, and infant CPR Manikin in conjunction with a highly functional training AED devise.